top of page

The Godfather by Mario Puzo

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐

Title: The Godfather

Author: Mario Puzo

Genre: Fiction / Crime Fiction

Setting: NYC, NY / Las Vegas, NV / Sicily, Italy / Los Angeles, CA

Month Read: February 2022

Book Type: Paperback (50th Anniversary Edition)

Publication: 1969

Publisher: Berkley

Pages: 435

*A PBS Great American Read book.


TRIGGER WARNING-

Abuse / Murder / Drugs / Abortion / Sex / Rape / Alcohol (these are the big ones)



"You cannot say 'no' to the people you love, not often. That's the secret. And then when you do, it has to sound like a 'yes'. Or you have to make them say 'no.' You have to take time and trouble."





No Spoiler Summary:

The Godfather is a book about a mafia crime family in New York, and brings you straight into the criminal heart of New York City in the 1940s. You learn about everyone in the Corleone family, as well as a motley crew of side characters who work for and against The Don.





Review:

I'm not one who generally reads a lot of 'crime fiction', but this book was incredibly hard to put down. I thought the characters were interesting, and the entire book kept you just knowing enough where you wanted to read more to know where the story went next. I loved that you got into the heads of so many different characters, and was actually surprised by how many women you got to know during the story (since this book is super patriarchal, because 1940's Italians.


I've never seen the movie (much like with Gone With the Wind) so again went into this novel knowing a few parts that have invaded pop culture, but not much else, and I think this was so helpful. I gave myself the entire month of February to read this book, and then finished it in a week.


I went into this assuming I wouldn't have a favorite character, but as the book went on I really fell for Michael, much like everyone else in the book seems to. I think his character arc was so interesting, and honestly follows in his father's footsteps more than anyone seems to know (including Michael, and maybe even his Dad.)


I'd highly recommend giving this a read, even if you think it's not your thing. The entire book reads like a movie, and now I'm really excited to watch it. It'll be really nice putting faces to names, because with a cast as large as this book had, I did get lost a few times trying to figure out who everyone was. I really enjoyed myself for this one, and am hoping this trend continues with the classics I have to read this year to work on the Great American Read PBS list.







Recommendation:

If you're into crime fiction:

The Cuckoo's Calling Series by Robert Galbraith (this is J.K Rowling just in case you are no longer supporting her.)

Catch Me If You Can by Frank W. Abagnale


"He should be careful. It's dangerous to be an honest man."



Search Similar Reviews:

#fiction #crimefiction

#TheGodfather #MarioPuzo

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Shot in the Dark by Victoria Lee

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐✨⬜ Title: A Shot in the Dark Author: Victoria Lee Genre: LGBTQIA+ Romance Setting: New York, New York Month Read: August 2023 Book Type: E-Arc Publication: September 2023 Publisher: Dell P

Morgan Is My Name by Sophie Keetch

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Title: Morgan Is My Name Author: Sophie Keetch Genre: Fantasy Setting: Old England (Camelot, etc) Month Read: June 2023 / October 2022 Book Type: E-Arc Publication: June 2023 Publisher:

The Celebrants by Steven Rowley

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐ Title: The Celebrants Author: Steven Rowley Genre: Fiction Month Read: April 2023 Book Type: E-Arc Publication: May 2023 Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Pages: 320 Thank you to NetGalley and

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page