top of page

Morgan Is My Name by Sophie Keetch

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Title: Morgan Is My Name

Author: Sophie Keetch

Genre: Fantasy

Setting: Old England (Camelot, etc)

Month Read: June 2023 / October 2022

Book Type: E-Arc

Publication: June 2023

Publisher: Penguin Random House Canada

Pages: 304

*Thank you to Netgalley and Penguin Random House Canada for the E-Arc. This has in no way, shape, or form influenced my review which is solely my own.


TRIGGER WARNING-

Misoginy, Magic, Abuse (Physical, Verbal), Rape, Death, Murder









No Spoiler Summary:

An atmospheric, feminist retelling of the early life of famed villainess Morgan le Fay, set against the colourful chivalric backdrop of Arthurian legend.


When King Uther Pendragon murders her father and tricks her mother into marriage, Morgan refuses to be crushed. Trapped amid the machinations of men in a world of isolated castles and gossiping courts, she discovers secret powers. Vengeful and brilliant, it's not long before Morgan becomes a worthy adversary to Merlin, influential sorcerer to the king. But fighting for her freedom, she risks losing everything – her reputation, her loved ones and her life.




Review:

I'M BLOWN AWAY BY HOW MUCH I LOVED THIS BOOK. I didn't know I'm as into Arthurian Legend as I am reading this, and couldn't put it down for the (2) days it took me to read this absolutely beautiful book. Morgan is such a nuanced, layered character and you can't help but wholeheartedly root for her the entire book. Every time she is met with injustice, abuse, or another one of Uther's schemes, she rises to the challenge and bests him with her spirit, body, and mind.


I loved the twists and turns the novel takes you on, especially with characters you think you know. I'm not going to spoil anything, but every time I felt I had this book figured out it took me somewhere different and I was on a wild ride for 300+ pages. Another thing I loved about this book is that it was 300 pages, and not 500, 700, or 900 like most fantasy books have decided they need to do. It shows what a talented author Sophie Keetch is where she didn't need more time to get a beautiful story, and large cast of characters across to the reader. I cannot wait for the other 2 books in this trilogy.


Another wonderful thing about this book was how insanely evil the villain is. He's just a man, but my hatred for him just SEETHED every time he entered a room. If anyone deserves a fate worse than death, it is Uther Pendragon. What an absolutely horrific man. I love a good villain, and Uther delivered on every page.


If you want a fresh, shorter, feminist historical fantasy novel I cannot recommend Morgan Is My Name enough. I feel like I'll be thinking about this book for a long time, and will be insufferable in my recommendations of it. Please read this book, you will not recommend a second of it.





Recommendation:

Feminist Historical Fantasies:

Circe by Madeline Miller

Ariadne - Jennifer Saint


Fantasy Novels:

Red Queen Series by Victoria Aveyard

Court of Lions by Somaiya Daud



Search Similar Reviews:

#historicalfantasy #fantasy

#MyNameisMorgan #SophieKeetch

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Shot in the Dark by Victoria Lee

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐✨⬜ Title: A Shot in the Dark Author: Victoria Lee Genre: LGBTQIA+ Romance Setting: New York, New York Month Read: August 2023 Book Type: E-Arc Publication: September 2023 Publisher: Dell P

The Celebrants by Steven Rowley

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐ Title: The Celebrants Author: Steven Rowley Genre: Fiction Month Read: April 2023 Book Type: E-Arc Publication: May 2023 Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Pages: 320 Thank you to NetGalley and

Hello Stranger by Katherine Center

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⬜ Title: Hello Stranger Author: Katherine Center Genre: Romance Month Read: January 2023 Book Type: E-Arc Publication: July 2023 Publisher: St. Martin's Press Pages: 336 Thank you to Netga

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page