top of page

Review: The Unlikelies by Carrie Firestone

Rating: ⭐⭐✨⬜⬜

Title: The Unlikelies

Author: Carrie Firestone

Genre: YA Fiction

Author Info: She / Her

Setting: The Hamptons, NY

Month Read: June 2021

Book Type: Paperback

Publication: 2017

Pages: 336


TRIGGER WARNING-

Racism / Bullying / Violence / Substance Abuse / Death



"It felt like the start of a whirlwind five-person romance, like we were running into something deep and exciting, something magnetic and abnormally comfortable."





No Spoiler Summary:

The Unlikelies is a very cute book about an unlikely group of friends that meet at a 'Heroes' Luncheon after doing things to help their communities. From doing school supply drives, to helping at animal shelters, to fighting a drunk driver to save the baby in his backseat- they all forge a friendship before their senior year of High School.


They decide (after hearing stories or seeing kids) that they know get bullied, that they have a mission to spread kindness- whether it be through secret care packages, comments on blogs and rating websites, or by doing good deeds in person.



Review:

If you know me you know Carrie Firestone's The Loose Ends List is a favorite book of mine, really well crafted and emotional and one that has sat in the back of my mind for several years. When I got The Unlikelies I was hoping for a similar feel that just never quite happened for me.


I liked the characters, and I liked the plot, and I liked the overall message of spreading kindness wherever and however you can. I think, especially in this day and age, you can never have enough kindness. My big issue was that I think this book tried to tackle too many things in too little time, and so many subplots seemed sort of unfinished.


I definitely didn't dislike the book, and I'm glad I read it- but it's not something that you necessarily need to rush to read. I also think the dialogue (and this is happening a lot tome this year which might mean I'm just a bit too old for some of these books) was really dumbed down and not really how teenagers speak. (Again, that might just be me.)






Recommendation:

The Loose Ends List by Carrie Firestone (YA)

Stranger Than Fiction by Chris Colfer (YA)

Let It Snow by John Green / Lauren Myracle / Maureen Johnson (YA)



"Sometimes it seems like I'm a sponge, like I absorb people's moods."



Search Similar Reviews:

#yalit #yafiction

#TheUnlikelies #CarrieFirestone

#femaleauthor #connecticutauthor

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Shot in the Dark by Victoria Lee

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐✨⬜ Title: A Shot in the Dark Author: Victoria Lee Genre: LGBTQIA+ Romance Setting: New York, New York Month Read: August 2023 Book Type: E-Arc Publication: September 2023 Publisher: Dell P

Morgan Is My Name by Sophie Keetch

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Title: Morgan Is My Name Author: Sophie Keetch Genre: Fantasy Setting: Old England (Camelot, etc) Month Read: June 2023 / October 2022 Book Type: E-Arc Publication: June 2023 Publisher:

The Celebrants by Steven Rowley

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐ Title: The Celebrants Author: Steven Rowley Genre: Fiction Month Read: April 2023 Book Type: E-Arc Publication: May 2023 Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Pages: 320 Thank you to NetGalley and

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page