top of page

Review: The Alchemist by Paolo Coehlo

Updated: Jun 9, 2021




Rating: ⭐⭐⬜⬜⬜

Title: The Alchemist

Author: Paulo Coehlo

Genre: Allegory /Quest /Fiction

Author Info: He /Him

Setting: Tarifa, Spain / Tangier, Morocco / Saharan Desert

Month Read: March, 2021

Book Type: Paperback (25th Anniversary Edition)

Publication: 1988

Pages: 171


TRIGGER WARNING-

Death / Murder / Violence / Animal Death



"It's the possibility of having a dream come true that makes life interesting."





No Spoiler Summary:

The Alchemist is a Quest story about Santiago (The Shepard) following a recurring dream to discover his personal journey through Spain, Morocco, and the Saharan Desert. Throughout the novel Santiago's life changes drastically several times- in terms of jobs, social class, and ambitions while he searches for his life's treasure.


Most of the book focuses on Santiago's personal quest, and following his wants and needs to get what he most desires in life.





Review:

I'm not the biggest fans of books like this, and if I'm being honest, preferred Siddhartha, in terms of allegories involving dreams and quests towards self fulfillment. I am glad I read this (and would have to at some point for the PBS Great American Reads challenge I've been working on the past few years) but wouldn't necessarily want to read it again.


Overall, it's a quick read and the writing is very good so I would definitely pick up a copy. If this type of fiction is your thing I'm sure you'll love it. :)





Recommendation:

For fans of a heroes quest:

*Siddhartha by Hermann Hesse

*The Odyssey by Homer



"I'm proud of the scars in my soul. They remind me that I have an intense life."



Search Similar Reviews:

#TheAlchemist #PauloCoelho

#lgbtq? #gender

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Shot in the Dark by Victoria Lee

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐✨⬜ Title: A Shot in the Dark Author: Victoria Lee Genre: LGBTQIA+ Romance Setting: New York, New York Month Read: August 2023 Book Type: E-Arc Publication: September 2023 Publisher: Dell P

Morgan Is My Name by Sophie Keetch

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Title: Morgan Is My Name Author: Sophie Keetch Genre: Fantasy Setting: Old England (Camelot, etc) Month Read: June 2023 / October 2022 Book Type: E-Arc Publication: June 2023 Publisher:

The Celebrants by Steven Rowley

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐ Title: The Celebrants Author: Steven Rowley Genre: Fiction Month Read: April 2023 Book Type: E-Arc Publication: May 2023 Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Pages: 320 Thank you to NetGalley and

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page