top of page

Review: In the Wild Light by Jeff Zentner

Updated: Aug 11, 2021




Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Title: In the Wild Light

Author: Jeff Zentner

Genre: YA Fiction

Author Info: He/ Him

Setting: Sawyer, Tennessee / New Canaan, CT

Month Read: April, 2021

Book Type: E-Book

Publication: 2021

Pages: 432

*Thank you to NetGalley for providing me with this ARC <3


TRIGGER WARNING-

Anxiety/ Grief/ Death/ Addiction / Trauma



“My life is small and simple, but it's a better one than I ever thought I'd have.”





No Spoiler Summary:

Cash Pruitt does not have an easy life- he's lost his mother to an opioid addiction, and his grandfather is dying slowly from emphysema. He navigates rural small-town life with his best friend, Delaney, a genius who secures them both spots at a prestigious Connecticut prep school.


Cash has to make the choice between going to the school and being able to keep his best friend, or stay home and spend the last days, months, and hours with his grandparents. When you've lost so much already, how do you willingly leave those you love the most?





Review:

It's no surprise that THE SERPENT KING is one of my favorite books of all time, and while I've liked Jeff's other books a lot, none have come close to his debut for me. IN THE WILD LIGHT has completely changed that for me. I loved reading every single second of this book, and 12 hours out from finishing I cannot wait to read it again and again and again.


I dare you to not immediately fall in love with Cash and Papaw. I rooted so hard for these characters, I prayed for them with Alex, and I let my heart crack open for them the entire novel. Every character in this book has such a purpose, and I hope they all achieve their wildest dreams.


I love an Easter Egg (and so does Jeff Zentner). The subtle nods to his other 3 novels made me feel like putting on my coziest sweater. Some were in your face, some less so- but all added a lovely familiarity and I can't help but stan books set in the same universe.


While I live nowhere near New Canaan, books set in Connecticut are my favorite things. They usually focus on some slight stereotypes (prep schools, rich kids, etc) but IN THE WILD LIGHT explored so much more. Warm October weekends spent in apple orchards and corn mazes had me nostalgic for the fall. I could taste warm apple fritters, crisp, flavorful apples, cider with a cinnamon stick to stir inside. I longed for drives to look at the changing foliage, and post Covid trips to NYC (the only other place I've ever lived.)


I can't wait for readers to experience some of my favorite little pleasures. New England is such a special place, and Jeff Zentner writes such a love letter to it, that it made me long for typical day to day experiences as the mercury begins to drop. Thank you, Jeff, for writing another novel that I love so much- I feel so lucky to have been able to experience it so soon.





Recommendation:


Books Set in Connecticut:

A Study in Charlotte (Charlotte Holmes #1) by Brittany Cavallaro

Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

The Babysitter's Club by Ann M. Martin (Also check out the newer graphic novels by Raina Telgemeier!)


Books that make you think (and make you sad):

The Serpent King by Jeff Zentner

Tenderness by Robert Cormier

What Light by Jay Asher



"Some people can lift your heart up to the light, reading the truth of you written on it."



Search Similar Reviews:

#yalit #yafiction

#inthewildlight #jeffzentner

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Shot in the Dark by Victoria Lee

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐✨⬜ Title: A Shot in the Dark Author: Victoria Lee Genre: LGBTQIA+ Romance Setting: New York, New York Month Read: August 2023 Book Type: E-Arc Publication: September 2023 Publisher: Dell P

Morgan Is My Name by Sophie Keetch

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Title: Morgan Is My Name Author: Sophie Keetch Genre: Fantasy Setting: Old England (Camelot, etc) Month Read: June 2023 / October 2022 Book Type: E-Arc Publication: June 2023 Publisher:

The Celebrants by Steven Rowley

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐ Title: The Celebrants Author: Steven Rowley Genre: Fiction Month Read: April 2023 Book Type: E-Arc Publication: May 2023 Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Pages: 320 Thank you to NetGalley and

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page