top of page

Review: Hello Girls by Brittany Cavallaro & Emily Henry

Rating: ⭐⭐✨⬜⬜

Title: Hello Girls

Author: Emily Henry and Brittany Cavallaro

Genre: YA Fiction

Author Info: She / Her

Setting: Michigan, USA

Month Read: June 2021

Book Type: Paperback

Publication: 2019

Pages: 325


TRIGGER WARNING-

Child Abuse / Substance Use / Sexual Themes / Murder



"There was a bite in the air she didn't associate with summer; summer meant mosquitos by the lake and trying to breathe through the pea-soup humidity."





No Spoiler Summary:

Hello Girls is a coming of age novel between two unlikely friends, Winona and Lucille. Winona is a rich girl, the textbook definition of a perfect daughter, child of the beloved local weatherman and her dead mother. Lucille is poor, living with her struggling-to-get-by Mother, and her drug dealer brother.


The novel is a Thelma and Louise-esque portrait of two girls escaping the lives the can no longer live in, and trying to find something new and bettwe somewhere else. It's time to go to Vegas with as much cash they can scrounge up, and a stolen convertible.




Review:

I absolutely love both Emily Henry & Brittany Cavallaro, but for some reason this book just didn't do it for me. I loved the dialogue, and the characters were fun- but I just wished the serious things were more serious, and the fun things were more fun. I also got the most lesbian vibes ever from this book, but alas, it was never seen through.


I don't want to spoil anything for sure, but the ending was tragically unfulfilling. I don't necessarily need bows tied at the ends of books, but I felt like it just sort of... ended. I guess I might have had expectations that were way too high, especially since I've never read any of Emily's YA offerings, and only the *perfect* Charlotte Holmes series for Brittany.


A solid 2.5 for me, I didn't hate it, but didn't love it either. I would, however, love to know what you think if you've read this!






Recommendation:

Burned by Ellen Hopkins (YA)

A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro (YA)



"You looked like My Little Ponies auditioning at a glue factory."



Search Similar Reviews:

#yalit #yafiction

#HelloGirls #BrittanyCavallaro #EmilyHenry

#coauthors #femaleauthor

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Shot in the Dark by Victoria Lee

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐✨⬜ Title: A Shot in the Dark Author: Victoria Lee Genre: LGBTQIA+ Romance Setting: New York, New York Month Read: August 2023 Book Type: E-Arc Publication: September 2023 Publisher: Dell P

Morgan Is My Name by Sophie Keetch

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Title: Morgan Is My Name Author: Sophie Keetch Genre: Fantasy Setting: Old England (Camelot, etc) Month Read: June 2023 / October 2022 Book Type: E-Arc Publication: June 2023 Publisher:

The Celebrants by Steven Rowley

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐ Title: The Celebrants Author: Steven Rowley Genre: Fiction Month Read: April 2023 Book Type: E-Arc Publication: May 2023 Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Pages: 320 Thank you to NetGalley and

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page