top of page

Review: Concrete Rose by Angie Thomas

Updated: Jun 9, 2021




Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Title: Concrete Rose

Author: Angie Thomas

Genre: YA Fiction/ Historical Fiction

Author Info: She/Her

Setting: Garden Heights (Fictional Location)

Month Read: February, 2021

Book Type: Hardcover

Publication: 2021

Pages:360

*Books & Brews February 2021 Book Club Pick



TRIGGER WARNING-

Gang Violence/ Sexual Themes/ Teen Pregnancy



"When we like this, I ain't gotta know a whole lot either. I just know that I love him."





No Spoiler Summary:

Concrete Rose is the prequel for THE HATE U GIVE focusing on Maverick Carter (Starr's father). The book centers on Maverick's day to day life- trying to go to school and graduate, work, and 'rep his set' within the King Lords while trying to be a single father to his new son.


The book explores Maverick finding his way through teenage fatherhood, feelings about leaving the King Lords after a traumatic experience, and trying to navigate the toxic masculinity instilled in young men.


Can a black man show emotion? Should he? How does he balance the love he has for his new family, for his girlfriend, for his mom- but also support them the way a man should? How can he grieve and mourn the losses he's had in his life? What does he want to instill in HIS son?





Angie Thomas can do NO wrong. When I first heard she was writing a book about a young Maverick from T.H.U.G I was PSYCHED. He was definitely one of my favorite characters, and he has a past that would make a really awesome story.


I chose this book for my February book club read because I really wanted to lift black female authors for Black History Month (as we did last year when we did THE VANISHING HALF by Brit Bennett). I'm really glad I chose this because some of my book club attendees have read THUG, some haven't, some are just reading it now AFTER reading Concrete Rose, and some binged them together in publication order and I'm VERY curious to see how people felt coming from all of these different directions.


As much as this is a story about Maverick, I loved reading about baby Seven, King, Iesha, Lisa, and Momma Carter. I had a really great time seeing versions of these characters at the same age Starr was in THUG, and seeing the differences (and similariites) in Garden Heights after almost 2 decades in-between.


If I could change anything, I would have wanted more--- Angie doesn't get to the point where Maverick goes to prison (or why) which is something we know as a backstory plot point in T.H.U.G., and also I would have loved to see how Maverick got his store. (Concrete Rose gives you everything you need to put two and two together, but still--- these things make Maverick who he is so much I wish we could have gotten there.)


My absolute favorite part about this book was watching Maverick's parenting struggles with his 4 month old son (my son turns 5 months *tomorrow* Feb 9, 2021). I really FELT these struggles, and just can't imagine doing it as young (or as frequently) as he did. The anecdotes about being peed on, and spit up on, the all night crying fits, and the e n d l e s s j o y from seeing your 'lil man' are just really universal, and she captured all of those things perfectly, and honestly.





Recommendation:

  • The Hate U Give and On The Come Up by Angie Thomas also take place in Garden Heights.

  • Dear Martin by Nic Stone tackles growing up as a black teen, equality, and gangs.

  • The Track Series by Jason Reynolds is also a great series I'd recommend for fans of Concrete Rose-- a little younger but fantastic, quick reads.



"Forget the world. He should have the sun, the moon, and all the stars, and they wouldn't be enough."



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Shot in the Dark by Victoria Lee

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐✨⬜ Title: A Shot in the Dark Author: Victoria Lee Genre: LGBTQIA+ Romance Setting: New York, New York Month Read: August 2023 Book Type: E-Arc Publication: September 2023 Publisher: Dell P

Morgan Is My Name by Sophie Keetch

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Title: Morgan Is My Name Author: Sophie Keetch Genre: Fantasy Setting: Old England (Camelot, etc) Month Read: June 2023 / October 2022 Book Type: E-Arc Publication: June 2023 Publisher:

The Celebrants by Steven Rowley

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐ Title: The Celebrants Author: Steven Rowley Genre: Fiction Month Read: April 2023 Book Type: E-Arc Publication: May 2023 Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Pages: 320 Thank you to NetGalley and

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page