top of page

Review: A Court of Silver Flames by Sarah J. Maas

Updated: Jun 9, 2021




Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⬜⬜

Title: A Court of Silver Flames

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Genre: Fantasy / Romance

Author Info: She/Her

Setting: The Night Court

Month Read: February 2021

Book Type: Hardcover

Publication: 2021

Pages: 757


TRIGGER WARNING-

Violence/ Murder/ Sexual Themes/ Rape/ Disfiguration



"She would not be mastered by anything again. She was the master of herself."



No Spoiler Summary:

Nesta Archeron is--- not the kindest person. She's mean, she loves to be alone, and as of the start of this novel, she loves to drink and bed males. It's dangerous, and something has to be done. Nesta still hasn't coped with the battle she ignited with Hybern, and being turned into a High Fae against her will- and something needs to happen before she destroys herself and everyone in her path.


In the worst bout of luck, Nesta is entrusted to stay with Cassian, and their hatred of each other sparks more than battles. They have a fire between them that grows and grows the longer they stay in each other's orbits, and neither of them want to give in to the inevitable.


The human queens have come back, more dangerous then ever- and are causing trouble in a land that has barely recovered from the last war it fought. If Cassian and Nesta can't (or won't) fight- will they be able to survive this? Will anyone?


Inner daemons must be fought as much as outside dangers in this novel of learning to love yourself so that you can accept love from others. Nesta and Cassian must both face their pasts in order to forge into a new future full of hope, possibility and love. Will their stubbornness get in the way? Will they be able to overcome everything that has been done, and said?





Review:

So, I read this book in about three days because ACOTAR is one of my favorite series of all time--- and that makes this review a lot harder to write.


When I first heard we were getting a Cassian/Nesta book I was PSYCHED. I loved Nesta, I loved Cassian- what could be better. (Other than a book about Lucien who is one of the most underrated characters in this whole series and deserves the WORLD.) I couldn't wait to read a love story like the one we had gotten with Feyre and Rhysand, and was excited to see what everyone was up to after the Court series, and getting to revisit some of my favorite fictional characters was just so high on my list.


Then I opened the book---- and... while it was certainly an enjoyable read--- it could have used a plot. It could have used character development. It could have used a lot less sex... (I personally couldn't get over the fact that this series started as a teen series, and thinking about how many KIDS were probably reading this book felt extremely gross to me.) Nesta is dealing with her trauma from the war with booze and sex- so it makes sense to lock her up in a tower with no booze--- but she is still using sex as an escape, and Cassian (who should be helping her through her trauma) is a willing participant. Is this really helping her?


Can I also talk about how all of her "friends" and the "good" guys in the books are literally treating this woman like absolute shit because she is going through a really really rough time? Threatening her, abandoning her, not listening to her--- I mean, none of this is helpful. I'm certain that I'm looking through this through the lens of someone who started therapy 2 months ago---(which, can we sign Nesta up, please?) I know I also probably have an unpopular opinion in all of this, but--- man, this book was just tragic in a lot of ways. Too long, way too sexual for the audiences (without warnings, mind you--- and I love a good sex scene!), and just not helpful on how to treat someone with raging PTSD.





Anywho, let's move on to some things I really liked- the new characters! I LOVED Gwyn and Emerie SO much- and I think they were the absolute perfect compliments to Nesta. The banter, the helpfulness, the sleepover & the romance novel borrowing were so real- and reminded me so much of my own friendships that it was hard to not like. I loved that they got to become Valkyries- and to watch them empower themselves and each other throughout was just supremely lovely. I also loved that Nesta had her own group, and her own experiences- and that she didn't have to be forced into Cassian and Feyre's group just because it's convenient (cough Elaine cough). Also, HUGE SHOUTOUT to my favorite new character- the house. <3 <3 <3





Recommendation:

If you like sexy scenes entwined with magic:

* The Vampire Lestat by Anne Rice

* Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

*Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes


If you like books that tackle mental health issues:

*Turtles All the Way Down by John Green

*Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson

*I Was Here by Gayle Forman

*History is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera



"Your power is a song, and one I’ve waited a very, very long time to hear, Nesta."



Search Similar Reviews:

#fiction #romance

#acourtofsilverflames #sarahjmaas

#femaleauthors


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

A Shot in the Dark by Victoria Lee

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐✨⬜ Title: A Shot in the Dark Author: Victoria Lee Genre: LGBTQIA+ Romance Setting: New York, New York Month Read: August 2023 Book Type: E-Arc Publication: September 2023 Publisher: Dell P

Morgan Is My Name by Sophie Keetch

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ Title: Morgan Is My Name Author: Sophie Keetch Genre: Fantasy Setting: Old England (Camelot, etc) Month Read: June 2023 / October 2022 Book Type: E-Arc Publication: June 2023 Publisher:

The Celebrants by Steven Rowley

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐ Title: The Celebrants Author: Steven Rowley Genre: Fiction Month Read: April 2023 Book Type: E-Arc Publication: May 2023 Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons Pages: 320 Thank you to NetGalley and

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page