top of page

Come & Get it by Kiley Reid

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐✨⬜

Title: Come & Get It

Author: Kiley Reid

Genre: Fiction / Contemporary Fiction

Setting: Arkansas, USA

Month Read: January 2024

Book Type: E-Arc

Publication: January 2024

Publisher: G.P. Putnam's Sons

Pages: 400

*Thank you to Netgalley and G.P. Putnam's Sons for my E-Arc of this novel. It in no way influenced or shaped my review and all thoughts are my own.


TRIGGER WARNING-

Blood / Racism / Classism / Drugs / Bullying / Animal Death / Self Harm / Talk of Suicide / Depression



No Spoiler Summary:

It's 2017 at the University of Arkansas. Millie Cousins, a senior resident assistant, wants to graduate, get a job, and buy a house. So when Agatha Paul, a visiting professor and writer, offers Millie an easy yet unusual opportunity, she jumps at the chance. But Millie's starry-eyed hustle becomes jeopardised by odd new friends, vengeful dorm pranks and illicit intrigue. A fresh and intimate portrait of desire, consumption and reckless abandon, Come and Get It is a tension-filled story about money, indiscretion, and bad behavior.



Review:

I'm so grateful I got a Netgalley E-Arc of this book, which I thoroughly enjoyed reading. I 100% would not have purchased this novel, because I really didn't like Such A Fun Age (which we read for Books & Brews a few years back.) This novel really opened my mind to Kiley Reid, who I had previously written off-- and I found I loved the subjects and characters in this novel so much more than her debut. I will definitely grab whatever her next book is, because I felt like this was so strong.


If you're not a fan of unlikable characters, this book probably isn't for you. Everyone is a mess, no one is making good decisions, and that can be a tough sell for some people, but I found myself so engrossed in what was happening I couldn't put the book down. The book is more character driven than plot driven, so know that going in as well.


Kiley Reid is such a great voice when it comes to discussing racism and classism. Both of her books have this as a central theme, and this novel, in particular, is much more nuanced in the discussion. I loved how the book resolved, and I was really hoping to get some backstories on some of the supporting characters more (Aimee and Josh in particular.) This book left me completely satisfied, and the pig on the cover makes a lot more sense now. I'd definitely recommend picking up a copy, I really enjoyed reading this.





Recommendation:

Maame by Jessica George

What's Mine and Yours by Naima Coster

Such A Fun Age by Kiley Reid



Search Similar Reviews:

#fiction #contemporaryfiction

#ComeAndGetIt #KileyReid


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Family Family by Laurie Frankel

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐ Title: What the River Knows Author: Laurie Frankel Genre: Fiction Setting: New York, NY / California Month Read: March 2024 Book Type: E-Arc Publication: January 2024 Publisher: Henry Hol

Girls With Bad Reputations

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⬜⬜ Title: Girls with Bad Reputations Author: Xio Axelrod Genre: Fiction Setting: Philadelphia, PA / The USA Month Read: February 2024 Book Type: E-Arc Audiobook Publication: February 2024 P

Ready or Not

Rating: ⭐⭐⭐⭐⬜ Title: Ready or Not Author: Cara Bastone Genre: Romance Setting:New York City Month Read: February 2024 Book Type: E-Arc Publication: February 2024 Publisher: The Dial Press Pages: 375

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page